The LPGA‘s rules are clear: if you miss the pro-am, you can’t play. That’s what happened to LPGA champion Yani Tseng. She missed her pro-am tee time and per LPGA regulations, she’s automatically withdrawn from the tournament. 

Tseng issued a statement saying:

“I’m embarrassed to admit that I wasn’t feeling well (Tuesday) night and accidentally overslept and missed my tee time for the pro-am (Wednesday) morning. I was extremely excited to compete this week to defend my title at the Kia Classic and to try to regain the No. 1 spot. This was an unfortunate mistake and I want to apologize to Kia, my sponsors and all of the fans. The Kia Classic is one of my favorite tournaments and I have so many great memories in San Diego. I can’t wait to come back here next year.”

She was hoping to defend her title. 

Oh well. Maybe next year. Tseng, you might want to go ahead and set your alarm now. 

Your Jersey Girlfriend,

~Angela Davis